Mission Statement

The Idaho-Montana Chapter mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in careful stewardship, wise planning and artful design of our cultural and natural environments.

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects is the national professional association representing landscape architects. Beginning with 11 original members, ASLA has grown to more than 16,200 members and 48 chapters, representing all 50 states, US territories, and 42 countries around the world. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship.


What is landscape architecture?

Landscape architecture encompasses the analysis, planning, design, management, and stewardship of the natural and built environments. Types of projects include: residential; parks and recreation; monuments; urban design; streetscapes and public spaces; transportation corridors and facilities; gardens and arboreta; security design; hospitality and resorts; institutional; academic campuses; therapeutic gardens; historic preservation and restoration; reclamation; conservation; corporate and commercial; landscape art and earth sculpture; interior landscapes; and more. Landscape architects have advanced education and professional training and are licensed in 47 states.


Public relations and advocacy

ASLA works to increase the public’s awareness of and appreciation for the profession of landscape architecture. ASLA is an active advocate for the profession at the local, state and national levels on public policy issues including licensure, livable communities, surface transportation, the environment, historic preservation, small business issues, and more.



Education and Training

Licensure - What Landscape Architect's do
CLARB - Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards
Idaho State Board of Landscape Architects
Montana Board of Landscape Architects


Idaho Montana Board of Directors

President - Jay Gibbons, Meridian Parks and Recreation
Trustee - John Roters, South Landscape Architecture
President-Elect - Vacant
ID Vice President - Sean Conner, The Land Group
MT Vice President - Kate Dinsmore, WGM Group
Secretary - Justin Bell, The Land Group
Acting Treasurer - Christopher Hawkins, The Land Group
Member-At-Large - Jessica (Hawn) Holdren, 4-Front Design
Past President - John Roters, South Landscape Architecture
Chapter Advisor - Lynda Wightman, Hunter Industries

Learn more about our Joint Conference and Chapter Awards Program